go to top

Early Years Curriculum

Dorking Nursery School and Family Centre

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum is broken down into 7 key areas, these are what the children learn. There are also Characteristics of Effective Learning (CEL) which looks at how they learn.

The 7 areas of the curriculum are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development – PSED
  • Communication and language – CL
  • Physical development – PD
  • Literacy – L
  • Mathematics – M
  • Understanding the world – UtW
  • Expressive arts and design – EAD

Parents are given detailed reports from their child's key workers focussing on their child's progress within these 7 areas. To find out more about the EYFS and curriculum, please use the links below. 

Useful Links

Related Content